Modern Indian History timeline

Here is a very informative timeline of Indian history given in a comment by Harpreet on Shekhar Kapur’s blog. I think it should be shared with all.

Part One – the East India Company

1600 Elizabeth I grants a charter to the East India Company
1612 The East India Company establishes a factory at Surat
1640 The East India Company establishes a factory at Madras
1661 Charles II receives Bombay from Catherine of Braganza as part of her dowry; the East India Company establishes a factory there
1690 The East India Company establishes a factory at Calcutta
1756-63 The Seven Years War
1757 The Battle of Plassey – the British defeat Siraj Ud Daulah
1760 The Battle of Wandiwash – the British defeat the French
1761 The Battle of Panipat – the British defeat the Marathas
1764 The Battle of Buxar – the British defeat Mir Kasim
1765 The Treaty of Allahabad – the British granted Diwani Rights in Bengal, Bihar and Orissa
1767-1769 The First Mysore War – the British are forced to concede a peace treaty with Hyder Ali
1772 Warren Hastings appointed as Governor of Bengal
1773 The Regulating Act passed by the British Parliament, creates post of Governor-General of India
1774-85 Warren Hastings Governor-General of India
1774 The India Act
1775-1782 The First Anglo-Maratha War
1780-1784 The Second Mysore War – the British finally defeat Hyder Ali
1784 The Government of India Act establishes a Board of Control
1786-93 Lord Cornwallis Governor-General of India
1790-1792 The Third Mysore War between the British and Tipu Sultan
1793 Cornwallis’ permanent settlement of Bengal revenue
1798 Lord Wellesley appointed Governor-General of India
1799 The Fourth Mysore War, once again between the British and Tipu Sultan; The Battle of Seringapatam – the death of Tipu Sultan and the Partition of Mysore
1802 The Treaty of Bassein
1803 The Nawab of Oudh cedes the southern and western parts of his territories to the British
1803-1805 The Second Anglo-Maratha war – the British defeat the Marathas at the Battle of Assaye
1804 The Mughal Emperor at Delhi is placed under British protection
1805 The Treaty of Amritsar
1813 The East India Company’s charter is renewed but it’s monopoly over Indian trade is abolished
1814-1816 The Anglo-Gurkha War
1817-1818 The Pindari War
1817-1819 The Third Anglo-Maratha War – the Marathas fmally crushed by the British who are now the paramount power in India
1824-1826 The First Burmese War
1828-35 Lord William Bentinck as Governor-General of India
1829 The prohibition of Sutee
1829-1837 The suppression of Thuggee
1831 The Raja of Mysore is deposed, and Mysore annexed by the Britsh
1833 The Charter Act and the abolition of the East India Company’s trade
1835 The Education Resolution
1838 The Tripartite Treaty between Shah Shuja, Ranjit Singh and the British
1839-1842 The First Afghan War
1843 The Gwalior War; the British annex the Sindh, Hyderabad and Khairpur
1845-1846 The First Anglo-Sikh War
1848 Lord Dalhousie becomes the Governor-General of India
1848-1849 The Second Anglo-Sikh War
1849 The Annexation of the Punjab
1852 The Second Anglo-Burmese War
1856 The complete annexation of the Oudh
1857 The Indian Mutiny, otherwise known as the Sepoy Uprising or Rebellion, or the First War of Independence
1858 The final abolition of the East India Company

Also read:  Ransom Insurance comes to India!

Part Two – the British Raj

In 1858 The last Mughal emperor of India, Bahadur Shah II, was deposed as a result of his support for the Indian Mutiny and exiled to Burma. The British government now imposed direct rule on India, appointing a Governor-General or Viceroy to act as the crown’s representative.

1861 The India Councils Act divides the government of India between a Secretary of State and a Council based in London, and the Viceroy and a Legislative Council based in Calcutta. Indians are only permitted to attend the Legislative Council in an advisory role
1869 The birth of Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi
1876 Queen Victoria is proclaimed Empress of India
1878 The Arms Act forbids Indians to carry arms
1878-1880 The Second Afghan War
1879 The murder of the British Resident in Kabul
1882 The Resolution on Local Self-Government
1883 The Ilbert Act
1885 The formation of the Indian National Congress
1886 The annexation of Burma
1892 The Indian Councils Act that allows Indians to be full members of the Legislative Council
1893 The establishment of the Durand Line now fixes the frontier between Afghanistan and British India
1905 The First Partition of Bengal
1906 The foundation of the Muslim League
1909 The Morley-Minto Reforms increase Indian representation on both the central and provincial councils
1911 The Coronation Durbar; King George V visits India ; transfer of capital from Calcutta to Delhi; the Partition of Bengal modified to create the Presidency of Bengal
1915 Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi, now known as the ‘Mahatma’ returns to India and begins his campaign of passive resistance to British rule
The Defence of India Act
1916 The Lucknow Pact; Congress and the Muslims League unite to demand Home Rule
1917 The Montagu declaration establishes that the British government intends to develop self-governing institutions in India
1919 The Amritsar Massacre and the Third Afghan War
The Montague-Chelmsford Reforms offer a limited form of Indian autonomy
1920 The launch of the Civil Disobedience Movement
1922 The Civil Disobedience Movement suspended after the Chauri-Chaura violence
1927 The Simon Commission appointed
1928 The Simon Commission visits India
1931 New Delhi becomes the capital of India
1935 Mohammed Ali Jinnah, the head of the Muslim League demands a new Muslim nation of Pakistan
1939 Congress refuses to support Britain during World War II
1940 The Muslim League adopts the Pakistan Resolution
1941 Congress offers its support in return for Independence. Gandhi disapproves and leaves Congress
1942 The Cripps Mission to India fails; Congress launches the Quit India Movement; as a result many Congress leaders, including Gandhi, are imprisoned
1946 Formation of the Interim Government, later joined by the Muslim League
1947 Lord Mountbatten appointed Viceroy and ; on the 14th, the Congress accepts the partition of India and the creation of Pakistan.
3rd June 1947 Lord Mountbatten announces the British government’s decision to grant India independence on the basis of partition
3rd June 1947 Congress announces its acceptance of partition
15th August 1947 India gains its independence from British rule, but partitioned into the separate states of India and Pakistan

Powered by Qumana

Get Drishtikone Updates
in your inbox

Subscribe to Drishtikone updates and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Get Drishtikone Updates
in your inbox

Subscribe to Drishtikone updates and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.